netsuke and sagemono lounge : Disclaimer - Please click anywhere on this bar to expand/contract the content.
Sponsor Announcement:

Woolley & Wallis would like to take this opportunity to invite you to participate in their auction - Japanese & Korean Art, on the 23rd May 2018.

To access the on-line catalogue please click on the banner below.

Please Note: This sponsorship announcement will automatically disappear on the 24th May 2018.

Possible tobacco sagemono?

A place to discuss and share other forms of sagemono such as Inro, Pipe Cases etc
BAMBAML19

Possible tobacco sagemono?

Postby BAMBAML19 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:11 am

I'm very new to the world of Netsukes, sagemono, and items of the like but i have a great teacher that educates me wherever we are out hunting and i try to read up as much as i can on the subjects but with a 3 year old and a 6 year old there isn't much free time for reading and research. So i hunt around here for information with what little time i have.
So today i purchased a piece that has me a bit confused and i thirst to learn more about it so i figured this might as well be my first post. It is a real turtle shell, the bottom is closed off somehow, though I'm not sure of the material with which was executed, the lid appears to be made of tortoise shell and there are figures carved inside the lid which, from my research, appear to be the numbers 236? The cord/string appears to be quite new as well as the wooden bead on the very top and I'm not sure what material the smaller white bead is in the middle which tightens the lid down. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance for your time, it is greatly appreciated!

Josh
Attachments
0611171500b.jpg
0611171500a.jpg
0611171500.jpg
0611171459d.jpg
0611171459b.jpg
0611171459a.jpg
0611171459.jpg
0611171458b.jpg
0611171458a.jpg
0611171458.jpg

chonchon

Re: Possible tobacco sagemono?

Postby chonchon » Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:09 am

326 = 三二六