netsuke and sagemono lounge : Disclaimer - Please click anywhere on this bar to expand/contract the content.
Sponsor Announcement:

Woolley & Wallis would like to take this opportunity to invite you to participate in their auction - Japanese & Korean Art, on the 23rd May 2018.

To access the on-line catalogue please click on the banner below.

Please Note: This sponsorship announcement will automatically disappear on the 24th May 2018.

Identification help for two ivory netsukes, please.

Discussions of carvers, workshops and attributions. A forum to also find help on, or discuss, signatures.
Boredbybach

Identification help for two ivory netsukes, please.

Postby Boredbybach » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:56 pm

Hello Everyone,

I have been researching for weeks to try and learn something about these two netsukes that have come into my possession. My collecting focus has been in other areas, so here I am a novice. If anyone could help me identify the artists and time period for these two netsukes, I would appreciate it very much. The pictures are the best I have and I can't I get any other ones right now. I apologize in advance if they are blurry or poorly lit. I would also like to know more information on how to substantiate their age. I read in the US fish and wildlife regulations that family paperwork or photos would suffice to prove that these objects are over 100 years old, but I don't have any of these and I'm not even certain from which branch of the family they came. I have no idea how to prove I inherited them. Any advice you can give me in this area would also be helpful. Thank you in advance.

P.S. The samurai and bear netsuke has some damage to the signature seal and there is a chip off of one of the samurai's feet. I don't believe these are new damages, but they are there.
Attachments
IMG_5790.JPG
IMG_5792.JPG
1891461A-4D16-4D3D-966E-5262403D340A.JPG
IMG_5791.JPG
IMG_5778.JPG
IMG_5774.JPG
IMG_5777.JPG
IMG_5784.JPG
IMG_5772.JPG
image.jpg

jbjtennyo