netsuke and sagemono lounge : Disclaimer - Please click anywhere on this bar to expand/contract the content.
Sponsor Announcement:

Woolley & Wallis would like to take this opportunity to invite you to participate in their auction - Japanese & Korean Art, on the 23rd May 2018.

To access the on-line catalogue please click on the banner below.

Please Note: This sponsorship announcement will automatically disappear on the 24th May 2018.

Mystery material.. Quiz

Discussions and analysis of Elephant Ivory
Clive

Postby Clive » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:12 pm

What raw material is this? :)

[img:1rmso5pu]http://netsuke.websitetoolbox.com/file?id=1022747[/img:1rmso5pu]

[img:1rmso5pu]http://netsuke.websitetoolbox.com/file?id=1022748[/img:1rmso5pu]

Attachments
1022747_mystery_object1.jpg
1022748_mystery_object2.jpg

OldKappa

Postby OldKappa » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:57 pm

I'm no expert, but such an irregular shape would point me towards a cancerous growth of ...?

Clive

Postby Clive » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:07 pm

Not amber or ginger... Old Kappa is on the right track. :)

Clive

Postby Clive » Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:04 pm

Nope.. but we have the answer now on the Iron Brush so I'll tell. This is in fact a section of diseased infected Asian Elephant Ivory! I've been on the look out for an example following a difficult material identification puzzle we had on here many month ago.

Fascinating stuff... a very hard dentin with strange swirls and no sign of anything like Schreger lines. A netsuke carved out of this would defy all that we assume is uniquely characteristic of elephant ivory.

Vlad

Postby Vlad » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:35 pm

Clive, thank you for posting. Always wanted to see one. I would've never guessed...

Here is a description, which I think it would somewhat fit: