netsuke and sagemono lounge : Disclaimer - Please click anywhere on this bar to expand/contract the content.

New here

A forum for INS sponsor Artists to showcase and discuss their work.
Tsukimendo

New here

Postby Tsukimendo » Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:29 am

I'm new to the forum and I'd like to introduce myself, my name is Jessica Van Wellen.
I've been carving for about 8 or 9 years now. Mainly to while away the hours (at work), working as a nightwatchman.
I started by carving any sort of wood I could get, carving with a stanley knife I ended with lots of cuts and a few nasty stabs.
Then I passed over to bone carving. Over time and with some helpful friends I met through facebook I started to gain some better materials. I've only really started to "see" netsuke after I acquired a lot of boxwood, while looking into the qualities of wood. I have much to learn, but Clive Hallam suggested I introduce myself and a few pieces in this forum.
I cannot call these pieces netsuke, because I don't feel that I'm there yet, and most are not shaped in the appropriate way.

The first is a kagamibuta, made with two toned chacate preto and a bone lid.
Second, a little carp that started as a bas relief and ended more into a high relief, my first attempt to inlay amber eyes.
Sanding still needs to be completed.
Third, we had a Buddha & Mind exhibition last year that led me into trying a simplified posture and expression. Remains unfinished for now.
And lastly, a little sleeping shiba inu.
Few weeks ago I was walking my dog and we ran into one that had left his owner in the dust. Him and mine made good friends straight away and we where able to rejoin with the owner. I came into work and carved this little piece. There's still some more shaping and sanding to be done, but it's almost finished.

Thank you for looking, comments are always welcome
Attachments
kagamibuta.jpg
carp.jpg
16298859_10208932562528132_7515345408089673174_n.jpg
21199402_10210658982807560_4396335292056915075_o.jpg